The Cooperative Higher Education System - How it Came to Be

In 1974, some of the largest businesses in Baden-Württemberg – Bosch, Daimler Benz and SEL – created the Cooperative Higher Education System with the help of the Baden-Württemberg Chamber of Commerce and the Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts. Their intention was to develop a new form of higher education that was based on the proven German tradition of vocational training merging theoretical learning and the practical application of the knowledge gained in the classroom. This new form of higher education institution was called “Berufsakademie”.

In 2009, the Berufsakademie officially became known as the Duale Hochschule Baden-Württemberg (DHBW) – or in English Baden-Wuerttemberg Cooperative State University. Today, there are about 34,000 students studying at various locations and around 9,000 different companies in Germany working in partnership with the institution.

DHBW Mosbach

DHBW Mosbach was founded in 1980 as a branch campus of BA Mannheim. It became independent in 1984 and was then called Berufsakademie Mosbach (BA Mosbach). Mosbach started with 18 students in the department of Management in Industry.

Nowadays, the DHBW Mosbach has 23 departments with 3.600 students. More than 1,000 companies from Baden-Württemberg as well as other German states cooperate with the Baden-Wuerttemberg Cooperative State University in Mosbach.

Duale Hochschule Baden-Württemberg

1973: The Council of Ministers of the State of Baden-Württemberg instructed the Ministry of Culture to consider whether university studies could be created on the basis of the Stuttgart model

1974: The professional schools in Stuttgart and Mannheim start on October 1st in the framework of a pilot project with a total of 164 students and 51 training companies in two training areas: economy (banking, computing, industrial and insurance) and engineering (mechanical and electrical).

1975: The Berufsakademie Stuttgart expands their education into the field of social work. In the same year, the Stuttgart branch of the BA in Villingen-Schwenningen is founded.

1976: A branch of the Berufsakademie Stuttgart is founded in Heidenheim.

1977: BA Stuttgart opened another office in Ravensburg.

1979: BA Villingen-Schwenningen and BA Heidenheim reach the critical mass of student occupancy and become independent. In the same year, the BA Karlsruhe Außenstelle BA Mannheim is founded.

1980: A branch of the BA Mannheim is established in Mosbach.

1984: BA Mosbach becomes indenpendent. The government announces an investment of an additional 7.5 million mark to expand the vocational colleges in order to deal with the overload of students.

1985: The total number of students reaches 5,000 and is continuously rising.

1992: The Commission receives an order, for further development of the Organization of BA Sydney to develop and in particular, to explore how the goal of nationwide recognition can be achieved.

1997: The Europe-wide recognition of qualifications of the professional academies shall be effected by the message of the Federal Minister for Economic Affairs in the EU.

2002: Bad Mergentheim Branch Campus of BA Mosbach is established.

2004: The Ministry of Culture decides that the graduation from the BA should be treated the same as Bachelor degrees from other institutions.

2006-07: Completion at the BA is converted, evaluated and accredited by the Central Evaluation and Accreditation Agency Hannover (ZEvA). The final labels are now "Bachelor of Arts in economics and social affairs as well as" Bachelor of Engineering in the field of technology. For computer science-oriented courses is completion of the “Bachelor of Science".

2008: All the degree programs are worth 210 ECTS credits and count as intensive programs.

2009: Under the coalition agreement of the Landtag of 5 May 2006, the Berufsakademie Baden-Württemberg as of March 1st is converted to the Duale Hochschule Baden-Wuerttemberg. The conversion to dual university status means the new institution can grant academic degrees.

2010: Heilbronn Branch Campus of DHBW Mosbach is established

2011: System accreditation of all DHBW locations by ZEvA

2012: accredited as family-friendly University

2014: Heilbronn Branch Campus becomes independent